top of page

Norton and Kay named in Boomers squad

Southland Sharks' two Australian imports have caught the eye of their national selectors with Nick Kay and Mitch Norton earning selection in a squad of 20 which will travel to the Gold Coast next month as preparations ramp up for the Australian Boomers ahead of the FIBA Asia Cup to be held in Lebanon from August 8-20.

Our two favourite Australians will have a busy off-season, with both set to play alongside each other as part of an NBL Selection team that will travel to China in early July to help spread the NBL message into the key Asian market.

The Boomers squad is largely made up of NBL players along with Australians in Europe. In total, 18 players invited to the camp are members of NBL Clubs including Nick and Mitch who are also team mates at the Illawarra Hawks and the club's only two representatives.

Out of this camp, a final team of 12 will be selected to depart overseas for warm-up games as preparation for the FIBA Asia Cup.

Head Coach Andrej Lemanis noted his touch point with all players previously, across Boomers play, World University games, Emerging Boomers and most recently the NBL All-Australian tour of China where seven of the squad played for Lemanis against the Chinese National Team.

“That is proof that the system is working well and we’re able to continually work with a broader group and connect them to the Boomers culture.”

Following the FIBA Asia Cup draw last month, the Boomers have been placed into Group D alongside Japan, Chinese Taipei and Hong Kong.

The FIBA Asia Cup will be played in a round robin group stage with the top three teams from each of the four groups advancing to the second phase.

The tournament will then be played in a knockout format from the Quarter-Finals onwards through the Semi-Finals and bronze and gold medal matches.

Full Australian Boomers Squad for FIBA Asia Cup Camp:

David Andersen – Melbourne United

Todd Blanchfield – Sydney Kings

Angus Brandt – Perth Wildcats

Jason Cadee – Sydney Kings

Mitch Creek – Adelaide 36ers

Cameron Gliddon – Cairns Taipans

Chris Goulding – Melbourne United

Matt Hodgson – Adelaide 36ers

Tom Jervis – Brisbane Bullets

Nick Kay – Illawarra Hawks

Daniel Kickert – Brisbane Bullets

Kevin Lisch – Sydney Kings

Ben Madgen – Lietkabelis Panevėžys (Lithuania)

Majok Majok – Melbourne United

Mitch McCarron – Cairns Taipans

Brad Newley – Sydney Kings

Mitch Norton – Illawarra Hawks

Nathan Sobey – Adelaide 36ers

Clint Steindl – Leuven Bears (Belgium)

Jesse Wagstaff – Perth Wildcats

Team Staff:

Andrej Lemanis – Head Coach

Luc Longley – Coach

Will Weaver – Coach

Adam Caporn – Coach

David Hillard – Head of Medical Services

Anthony Kaleel – Massage Therapist

Jason Membrey – Head of Delegation

Junior Albert – Equipment Manager

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page